Book Review – Love is the Higher Law

I finished this book on my vacation. I’ve got some spare time on my vacation. I spend 2 days reading half of this book on the hotel room because I’ve done the other half back in Singapore.

The story line is about 3 different people who met during 9/11. Claire, Jasper, and Peter are 3 teenagers that met by lots of different coincidence and support each other post the incident. This is a book that reminds us how vulnerable we all are, how human we are. This teaches us about humanity. There aren’t much stories about 9/11 and David Levithan is brave enough to make a story regarding that incident.

First of all, I need to say that I didn’t remember much about that incident because of two reasons. First, I’m not an American citizens. Second and last, I’m still 6 years old at that time. This is my first book about 9/11 incidents and it makes me realised how frustrating the incidents would be for people at that time. Something they saw everyday, something so gigantic, suddenly missing from their life. Moreover, it took down so many human being. It was a big fat scar in lots of people hearts.

The book is good enough in my opinion. I’m not a big fan of the book but I love how it reminds us about humanity, to help each other even strangers not only in bad times but also in good times. That is probably the best part of the book for me. I will suggest this book to people from 16 onwards especially people who can relate to 9/11 incident.

 

Cheers,

E

 

Leave a Reply

