Book Review – The Diary of Amos Lee ( I Sit, I Write, I Flush )

I have to say that it took me a long time to finished this book. If we are by chance friends on goodreads and you follow my updates, you would probably realised that I’m progressing very slowly on this book. In case you are wondering, no, it’s not because this book is boring but it’s only because I have exam coming up at that time that I haven’t got a chance to finished the book. When exam are done, I finished the book and it turns out that the book are very hilarious and refreshing.

This is my first time reading a book by a Singaporean author and it turns out to be very nice. The book is about a boy called Amos Lee. His mom told him to wrote a diary every time he is doing his ‘business’ in the toilet. So, there it goes, Amos Lee adventure summed up in his personal diary. What i find hilarious is that his family will put some comments on his personal diary and make it not that personal anymore.

The illustration of the book is also good. It helps to build our imagination towards the story plus the drawings are very cute. I really think that the illustrator did a decent job on turning words into pictures.

I think that when people read this book, they shouldn’t compare it to ‘The Wimpy Kid’. It’s very different. I know that it was written in a similar way but this book brings more local culture that are very interesting. Besides that, this book also teaches us some moral value that wrapped up around a beautiful story. I personally enjoy the book because it is very simple and refreshing especially after you read a quite tough book or went through a stressful time ( for me it’s exam time ) this book can cheer you up !

I will suggest this book for all ages. This book is very hilarious and fun in it’s own way. I hope if you decided to pick up the book, you will enjoy it as much as I do.

Cheers,

E

Leave a Reply

